Information about evaluation of FLL

Evaluation at FLL Tournaments

FIRST® LEGO® League is a global educational program. Participating children are juged by the same evaluation criteria regardless of the country in which they compete. In all FLL competitions 6 trophies will be awarded – these represent the values and philosphy of the global competition. On the day of the competition teams are judged in several categories. Judges will evaluate the individual categories Robot Design, Research and Teamwork with reference to the FLL evaluation sheets. In addition, points can be achieved in the Robot Game, referees take a look over the field and if the teams comply with the rules. On the tournament day there will be both awarded the winners of the individual categories and an overall winner of the competition – the FLL Champion. In addition to the awards, each team member receives an FLL Certification as a sign of appreciation for their achievements and performances during the tournament and preparations time.

FLL Champion

The FLL Champion and winning team will be the team with the best score in the overall evaulation of all individual categories. The winning team serves as a role model for the FLL program. FIRST® LEGO® League is not only about building a robot and competing with others. In the beginning there is of course the robot but much more important is to work in a team and find solutions together. The FLL Champion is the highly renowned award honouring the four core elements of FLL – Robot Design, Research Project and Teamwork as well as the Robot Game. For the evaluation of the Champion only the best match from the three preliminary rounds counts. A team does not necessarily have to be qualified for the final rounds of the Robot Game to become FLL Champion.

Individual Evaluation

During the preparation the FLL Teams concentrate on two main topics: the Robot and the Research Project. At an FLL Tournament the teams will be evaluated in a further category called "Teamwork" – the team and its interactions with others will be considered. The best teams of each category (Robot Game, Robot Design, Research, Teamwork – see each in the current season) will receive an award at the award ceremony at the end of a tournament day.

Judges Award

To honour special teams the judges at FLL Tournaments have the chance to give out the Judges Award. The entire jury decides on this award.

It could be given to teams that show outstanding endurance and do not give up even if the situations seems unresolvable. The awarded team is able to cope with very tricky situations by improvising, adjusting, clearing an obstacle out of the way, still performing exceptionally.

Or it could be given to newcomer teams taking part in FLL for the first time. Those teams take up more challenges than teams that already experienced a tournament. The team awarded show the ability to compete with experienced teams and achieves good results in the tournament.

Special Awards

These awards are only awarded at the FIRST® LEGO® League Final Central Europe.

FLL "Best Programming" Award

The software programming of the awarded team distinguishes itself in exceeding quality and performance (stabil and free from defects) as well as user friendliness (simple, intuitively, intelligible handling) and clear and simple structure. Evaluated is also innovative strength, which means the idea the programming is based on. Despite to that, the possibility to extend and transfer the idea to different useful applications should be taken into account (flexibility and integration). The criteria of SAP-Programming should be transferred to the challenge. The award for the best programming is supported by the software company SAP.

FLL "Best Build" Award

This award is given to the team that demonstrates the best design capability. The ability of the robot to perform complex tasks in an innovative or creative way is evaluated. Also evaluated is how well certain tasks are combined and solved. In addition, the physical construction with regard to stability and speed as well as the design of the robot is also assessed. The award for the "Best build" is supported by the software company Sage.

Live Challenge

At the FIRST LEGO League Final Central Europe there is the additional category “Live Challenge” in addition to the regular FLL evaluation categories. With the help of an unknown robot, the teams try to solve as many of three defined tasks  as possible within 20 minutes. To accomplish the tasks the robot has to be programmed by the team and tools have to be built out of provided LEGO® elements.

The team which has been able to solve most of the tasks in a very short time, will receive the award “Best Live Challenge”. The “Live Challenge” is part of the “Teamwork” evaluation and is rated as the Teamwork activity.