On this page you find some of the most frequently asked questions. The replies apply to all FLL teams in all FLL competitions in Central Europe.
M04 – Crater Crossing: official update
Last update on 2018-11-28 by Christine Widmann.
+++ ATTENTION: THIS FAQ REPLACES
„M04 - CRATER-CROSSING: CLARIFICATION“ +++
The “crossing equipment” is whatever crosses completely east to completely west for points. Crossing equipment is the only equipment that needs to cross. Any other equipment involved, which might throw or transport the crossing equipment, does not need to cross.
- If a ball was thrown to score as the crossing Equipment, then only the ball needed to cross. The crossing ball was not part of the Robot, so the Robot didn’t need to cross.
- If the ball was transported across and dropped, then again, only the ball needed to cross. The crossing ball was not part of the Robot, so the Robot didn’t need to cross. (See Rule D10)
- If a ball was built into the Robot and later removed by hand, then the entire Robot had to cross. The ball was part of the Robot, so the entire Robot needed to cross. (See Rule D04)
The Gate must be flattened by the end of the Match, but how and when that happens doesn’t matter. For this Mission, Teams and Referees alike clearly need to know the difference between something which is Transported by the Robot and something which is part of the Robot. Rules D10 and D04. Teams: If you’re unclear about that difference, study it, or your strategy could be risky. Referees: If You’re unclear about that difference, study it, or you’ll need to over-use Rule GP3.